Demon Realm

May 2017 Featured RPG

Demon Realm's Guidebook

↩   Previous EntryNext Entry   ↪ Dominions & Mastery

The demonic explanation for what humans call ‘Dominions’ is elaborate and long-winded. The short version is simple: dominions are areas of magic. In the massive gamut of abilities and magical potential, dominions are small segments of the gamut that a particular demon could be skilled in. There are hundreds upon thousands of different dominions, and the demons say that dominions exist (and cease to exist) organically. Mastery refers to how strong a demon is in its dominion. Demons can grow stronger in a particular dominion and can even gain more dominions over the course of their lives. Currently demons can access only twelve dominions at a time.


Demons possess certain dominions at the start of their lives. There seems to be a correlation between demonic age and dominion number: younger demons tend to have only a few, and older demons tend to have many more. Demonologists also believe that the quantity and quality of a demon’s past lives may affect the number of dominions they can harness at the beginning of their life as well.

1 | Starting Dominions

Starting dominions begin to manifest early in the human’s development. By the age of eighteen, chances are you’ll have seen all of the demon’s starting dominions expressed in one form or the other.

2 | Gaining Dominions

Demons can gain more dominions over the course of their and their host’s lives. The popularity of universities and education on demonology have risen to prominence in part because of this. While there are many different triggers for dominion development, education and experience seems to play an important part. There are also a number of more radical ways to gain dominions.

3 | Taking Dominions

Demons can take dominions from other demons. Cannibalism among demons is common, and it isn’t just limited to demons without hosts. The quickest way - and perhaps most dangerous way - of gaining more dominions is by consuming other demons and acquiring theirs.

4 | Dominions Cap

The maximum number of dominions any one individual can possess is 12 at any one time. Don't worry though, they don't have to be permanent-- the Fortune Teller is capable of swapping them... (more information here)

Anti-Dominion Technology

All manner of technology exists for the nullification and control of magic, but most have less and less effectiveness the higher the dominion being controlled or nullified. Some can even reverse or confine the effects of certain dominions, like necrosis and gold touch. Some are designed to be worn by people with those dominions so they won’t lose control and hurt someone or something close to them.

Examples of anti-dominion technology include but are not limited to:

Magic resistant materials

Inhibitor drugs

Special suppression seals

Absorbing materials

All of these examples anti-dominion tech are incredibly expensive. All the factions have sources of them, robber and cop, and some wealthy unaffiliated might have a few examples too.


Mastery refers to the strength of a demon within a particular dominion. Demons - and human hosts - can be trained to expand their mastery. Entrance exams and tests are often conducted in order to properly classify and rank a demon’s dominion.
Tier 1 Mastery | Lesser Dominions
Novices of their dominion, a demon of a lesser dominion shows minimal control and prowess in their magical area.

Lesser Fire Dominion Mastery

Lighting candles, manipulating pre-existing fire sources.
Tier 2 Mastery | Minor Dominions
Apprentices of their dominion, demons of minor dominions show weak control and prowess in their magical area, but the potential for growth.

Minor Fire Dominion Mastery

Creating fist-size balls of flame.
Tier 3 Mastery | Proficient Dominions
‘Average’ potency. Often at their tier, a demon will either show greater control and lesser strength, or greater strength and lesser control. Rarely will they exemplify a balance. (This level mastery was formally known as "superior".)

Proficient Fire Dominion Mastery

Control-oriented: Ability to cover oneself in flames without risk of being burnt.
Power-oriented: Ability to engulf a large vehicle in fire.
Tier 4 Mastery | Major Dominions
Above average in their understanding of their dominion, the difference between control and strength gets more stratified.

Major Fire Dominion Mastery

Control-oriented: Ability to cover oneself and up to four other people or a large vehicle in flames without risk of being burnt.
Power-oriented: Ability to engulf a house or small building in fire.
Tier 5 Mastery | Greater Dominions
At this highly advanced level, the secondary part of the dominion — either strength, if their specialty is control, or control, if their specialty is strength — starts to develop as well, though it will never be as natural to them as the other.

Greater Fire Dominion Mastery

Control-oriented: Ability to protect yourself and up to 10 other people from being burnt while engulfing a large vehicle in fire.
Power-oriented: Ability to engulf a shopping mall or large building in fire, and walk through it unharmed.
Tier 6 Mastery | Legendary Dominions
Few achieve a Legendary Dominion in their lives. Those that do are considered the best and the brightest — and highly dangerous. You’re probably on a government watch list, let’s leave it at that.

Legendary Fire Dominion Mastery

Control-oriented: Ability to both engulf a house or small building in fire and protect yourself and specific people or things in the house.
Power-oriented: Ability to flood a city block with fire and walk through it unharmed with four other people.
Tier 7 Mastery | Godly Dominions
There are only a handful of demons in the entire world with tier seven mastery. Reserved for those who show unparalleled levels of strength, those with tier seven mastery are considered insanely dangerous. It is uncertain what the limitations of their abilities are… or if there is any mastery beyond the seventh level.

Godly Fire Dominion Mastery

The limits of this ability are uncertain, and examples of it mind-boggling.

Increasing Mastery

Increasing mastery for a dominion results in unusual command and control, unleashing new and powerful skills and abilities. It's not easy to do! However, here are a few of the generally accepted methods:


Random Gifts

Post Milestones

Monthly Postravaganza

Quests/Events: A variety of faction specific or open quests offer opportunities to earn an increase in mastery, among other rewards. To review available quest/events and review what the criteria and potential reward requirements are, visit the QUESTS list.
Random Gifts: Staff will randomly award gifts on a monthly basis, you don't have to do anything special! Rewards include: Mastery Increases, New Dominions and Ascensions.
Post Milestones: When your character achieves 100, 250, 500 or 1,000 posts, they are eligible to claim a post milestone reward on our MODERATION thread.
Monthly Postravaganza: The most reliable means to achieve a mastery increase is by participating in our Monthly Postravaganza. Each character who makes 25 IC posts for the month is eligible to emter, and whoever makes the most posts for that month wins an extra special prize! You can read all about it and claim from HERE.